Ivan Coyote Encounter…

ivancoyote1crop

I’ve been very remiss of late neglecting my blogs and of course it is so easy to find excuses; a week of ill-health and lots of ‘other stuff’ gripping my attention. But probably the real reason is lack of discipline; a writer should really put pen to paper, or more likely in the 21st century fingers to keyboard, and write something every day. It’s always rather salutary and helpful when something happens to kick-start one’s blogging.

Today this happened after a pleasant encounter with Ivan Coyote. I’m a great admirer of her writing. She lives in the neighbourhood and in fact my partner and I quite often pass her in the street but are too inhibited to actually speak. However, today I was sipping organic green tea in my favourite cafe on East Hastings, ‘Platform 7’, when Ivan Coyote and two companions entered and sat at the table immediately next to me. I was reading ‘The Letters of Freya Stark‘ but have to confess it was impossible not to over-hear some of the conversation going on right next to me. Such a pity my hearing is no longer perfect!

Eventually the time came for me to leave but I could not resist the opportunity to actually interrupt the conversation and mention just how much I enjoy the author’s writing. She was very pleasant and, I have to say, I think appreciative of the comment. I in turn was glad to have over-come my shyness and also learn from her that she will be giving a performance on 9th April: ‘Gender Failure’. I have already marked it in my diary.

Leave a comment